Car insurance varies from state to state. This is why it is essential to research the local laws as soon as possible when relocating to a new area. Have you recently moved in the Golden State? Here is an introduction to Southern California auto insurance that you might find beneficial.
The typical policy follows a 15-30-15 dynamic. This means that to keep driving in this state, you must maintain bodily injury and property damage liability of at least $15,000 each. The supposed biggest payout or biggest amount of coverage comes from total bodily injury reliability, where the per-accident potential for reimbursement is $30,000.
To many, these sound like more than fair reimbursements at first glance. It may even seem like a comfort that California law requires every driver to have insurance that will cover these standards for payouts. However, one must really think about the cost of an accident. A severely broken bone could lead to surgery and physical therapy, or worse, a permanent crippling injury. The medical bills could easily spiral past the standard payout point. Likewise, property damage liability of only $15,000 seems measly when you consider many cars on the market costs upwards of $40,000.
When considering all the potential expenses related to a car wreck, it is clear that relying on others to have the Southern California auto insurance minimum is no longer enough. To ensure you are not in a financial bind after a collision, contact our agency not to obtain additional coverage!